ACTEC’s 2016-2018 Young Leaders Class Elected to Fellowship – Terry Franklin Spearheaded Establishment of Young Leaders Program for Development of Potential Fellows and to Promote Diversity & Inclusivity

The American College of Trust and Estate Counsel announced that the entire 2016-2018 class of Dennis I. Belcher Young Leaders has been elected as Fellows. This demonstrates the program’s success to foster scholarship and education in trust and estate matters, promote diversity and inclusivity, and encourage the development of potential ACTEC Fellows.

Partner Terry Franklin worked with ACTEC’s Diversity, Equity and Inclusivity Committee to establish the Young Leaders program, and modeled it after the ABA Real Property Trust and Estate Law (RPTE) Section Fellows program, including the requirement that each class of Young Leaders includes members from diverse backgrounds.

“ACTEC and RPTE spent countless hours to get this program off the ground, and seeing the resulting success is very rewarding,” Terry commented. “I’m also particularly proud to be part of efforts that continue to increase ACTEC’s diversity.”

The Young Leaders program provides successful graduates of the two-year RPTE program an opportunity to extend their participation in RPTE leadership activities through the financial support of The ACTEC Foundation. In March 2018, the program was named after Dennis I. Belcher, ACTEC President 2009-2010, a leader of the College and mentor to countless young trust and estate lawyers.

The 2016-2018 class includes Marissa Dungey, elected Fall 2020; Chasity Grice, elected Annual 2021; Toni Ann Kruse, elected Annual 2020; Jonathan P. Lee, elected Fall 2017; and Raj A. Malviya, elected Fall 2017.